Central Ave Dance Ensemble

The Central Avenue Dance Ensemble is a multi-aged performance group led by Chester Whitmore. Our mission is to perpetuate and promote American Vernacular dances of the 20th Century. These dances include: American street dances such as Leonard Reed’s Shim Sham Shimmy, the Shorty George, the Charleston (1920s) and the Lindy Hop (1920s - 40s). These are in addition to dances derived from them like the Chicago Bop (1960s) which begat Steppin’ (1990s). We aim to show the connections between dance forms from generation to generation and their connection to music and cabaret; to show how American vernacular dances were influenced by African dance and were shaped by spirituality and slavery (liturgical dance) as well as were molded by rhythm and music (tap dance and Salsa). We aim to express the infectious healing qualities of dance, to educate audiences and to spread the joy of dance.

Recent Content: 

Type Title Post date Updated/commented datesort ascending
Event Norma Miller Honored at 30th Annual IABD Conference Monday, November 27, 2017 - 12:07pm Monday, November 27, 2017 - 12:07pm
Event Chester Whitmore and CentralAveDance at 4th Annual Los Angeles/Leimert Park Theater Festival Friday, August 11, 2017 - 7:38pm Saturday, August 19, 2017 - 12:17pm
Event CHESTER WHITMORE'S TAP & JAZZ REVUE at Union Station Los Angeles Monday, July 3, 2017 - 5:50pm Friday, July 14, 2017 - 10:25am
Event Tribute to Sam Cooke Saturday, May 13, 2017 - 10:40pm Monday, May 22, 2017 - 11:22pm
Event Tribute to Michael Jackson Saturday, May 13, 2017 - 10:43pm Sunday, May 14, 2017 - 10:43pm
Book page Five Star Center / Epworth Methodist Church Research Thursday, January 5, 2017 - 12:25am Friday, January 6, 2017 - 1:18am
Event 2004-12-03 - Swinging In The Hood Dance w/ Chester Whitmore's Opus One Band. Friday, December 3, 2004 - 12:00am Wednesday, January 4, 2017 - 10:51pm
Video Killing Myself - Wednesday, January 4, 2017 - 10:48pm Wednesday, January 4, 2017 - 10:48pm
Event 2005-01-21 - Swinging In The Hood Dance Friday, January 21, 2005 - 12:00am Wednesday, January 4, 2017 - 10:19pm
Event 2005-01-08 - Urban Wear Fashion Affair Saturday, January 8, 2005 - 12:00am Wednesday, January 4, 2017 - 10:18pm

Pages

 

Group: 
This is a closed group. Only a group administrator can add you.
Group visibility: 
Public - accessible to all site users
Public Attachments: