Central Ave Dance Ensemble

The Central Avenue Dance Ensemble is a multi-aged performance group led by Chester Whitmore. Our mission is to perpetuate and promote American Vernacular dances of the 20th Century. These dances include: American street dances such as Leonard Reed’s Shim Sham Shimmy, the Shorty George, the Charleston (1920s) and the Lindy Hop (1920s - 40s). These are in addition to dances derived from them like the Chicago Bop (1960s) which begat Steppin’ (1990s). We aim to show the connections between dance forms from generation to generation and their connection to music and cabaret; to show how American vernacular dances were influenced by African dance and were shaped by spirituality and slavery (liturgical dance) as well as were molded by rhythm and music (tap dance and Salsa). We aim to express the infectious healing qualities of dance, to educate audiences and to spread the joy of dance.

Recent Content: 

Type Title Post datesort ascending Updated/commented date
Book page Bernadette Sebastian Saturday, January 30, 2016 - 10:24am Saturday, January 30, 2016 - 11:06am
Link Lindy Hop Featured in Life Magazine, August 23, 1943 Wednesday, January 27, 2016 - 11:40am Thursday, March 17, 2016 - 7:38pm
Book page Interviews with Chester Whitmore Saturday, January 9, 2016 - 2:48pm Saturday, January 9, 2016 - 2:48pm
Event The History of Black Dance in America - Black History Month 2016 Monday, December 28, 2015 - 10:34pm Tuesday, March 8, 2016 - 8:24pm
Video Embed MaDonna Grimes Wednesday, December 23, 2015 - 7:29am Monday, February 1, 2016 - 3:57pm
Event Motor City Jam Thursday, August 20, 2015 - 5:14pm Thursday, August 20, 2015 - 5:14pm
Event 10th American Lindy Hop Championships (Stamford, CT) Thursday, August 20, 2015 - 4:58pm Thursday, August 20, 2015 - 4:58pm
Event AfricaDance & Drum Conference Thursday, August 20, 2015 - 4:55pm Thursday, August 20, 2015 - 4:55pm
Book page Brian Yip Friday, June 19, 2015 - 1:01pm Saturday, January 30, 2016 - 11:07am
Book page Fumi Bankole Friday, June 12, 2015 - 3:12pm Tuesday, February 2, 2016 - 4:02pm

Pages

 

Group: 
This is a closed group. Only a group administrator can add you.
Group visibility: 
Public - accessible to all site users
Public Attachments: