Central Ave Dance Ensemble

The Central Avenue Dance Ensemble is a multi-aged performance group led by Chester Whitmore. Our mission is to perpetuate and promote American Vernacular dances of the 20th Century. These dances include: American street dances such as Leonard Reed’s Shim Sham Shimmy, the Shorty George, the Charleston (1920s) and the Lindy Hop (1920s - 40s). These are in addition to dances derived from them like the Chicago Bop (1960s) which begat Steppin’ (1990s). We aim to show the connections between dance forms from generation to generation and their connection to music and cabaret; to show how American vernacular dances were influenced by African dance and were shaped by spirituality and slavery (liturgical dance) as well as were molded by rhythm and music (tap dance and Salsa). We aim to express the infectious healing qualities of dance, to educate audiences and to spread the joy of dance.

Recent Content: 

Typesort descending Title Post date Updated/commented date
Book page Rosa Harris Wednesday, June 10, 2015 - 2:40pm Saturday, January 30, 2016 - 11:13am
Book page Daigo Koide Friday, February 5, 2016 - 5:39pm Friday, February 5, 2016 - 5:39pm
Book page Nupeir Garrett Sunday, January 31, 2016 - 1:35pm Sunday, January 31, 2016 - 1:35pm
Book page Brian Yip Friday, June 19, 2015 - 1:01pm Saturday, January 30, 2016 - 11:07am
Book page Ron Parker (alt) Saturday, July 30, 2011 - 1:12pm Thursday, July 21, 2016 - 9:15am
Book page Bernadette Sebastian Saturday, January 30, 2016 - 10:24am Saturday, January 30, 2016 - 11:06am
Book page Interviews with Chester Whitmore Saturday, January 9, 2016 - 2:48pm Saturday, January 9, 2016 - 2:48pm
Book page Salvador Corona Friday, January 21, 2011 - 11:57am Tuesday, February 2, 2016 - 4:02pm
Book page Beatriz Vasquez Friday, January 21, 2011 - 11:58am Thursday, July 21, 2016 - 9:18am
Book page Fumi Bankole Friday, June 12, 2015 - 3:12pm Tuesday, February 2, 2016 - 4:02pm

Pages

 

Group: 
This is a closed group. Only a group administrator can add you.
Group visibility: 
Public - accessible to all site users
Public Attachments: